Create a list
loadingPeople

Fantasy  ›

Fantasy books on our library shelves
by NACS Library
558 views
282 books

Science Fiction  ›

Science fiction books on our library shelves
by NACS Library
559 views
250 books

2017 Giller Prize Longlist  ›

12 Works of Fiction Nominated for Canada's $100,000 Giller Prize
by Jennifer D.
63 views
10 books

The 25 Must-Read Books Hitting Bookshelves This Fall  ›

Check out these 25 must-reads for fall.
by Riffler
455 views
25 books
  • see all 25 →
  • Comedian John Hodgman has released a series of outstanding books over the years, and Vacationland is no exception to that rule. Following the curmudgeonly man through his travels is a pure joy and will leave you giggling for hours.

  • Mad Men may be over, but if Heather, the Totality is any indication, Matthew Weiner is about to own the literary world just like he did the TV one. A page-turning thriller centered on a stalker in Upper Manhattan, we highly recommend reading it in one sitting so you can soak it all in.

  • Jasmine Warga's Here We Are Now is one of those books that has a plot driven by music but becomes a page turner thanks to the ultrarelatable love story contained within it. Long story short: fans of High Fidelity, Nick + Nora, get your hands on this book ASAP.

  • Set at the end of the world as we know it, time is running backwards, and everything we know about evolution has been thrown out of whack. It's at this point that one woman, who happens to be four months pregnant, realizes she must do whatever she can to survive and save her baby — as without her, it could be the end of the human race.

  • Myriam Gurba's Mean is no ordinary book. At times it reads like a spooky story, at other times like a noir drama — but the bottom line is, it's a memoir of sorts, which puts forth a beautiful story of a mixed-race girl coming out as a queer woman, and you've never read anything quite like it before.

10 Books for Outlander Enthusiasts  ›

Readalikes for Diana Gabaldon's Outlander series
by karenbrissette
332 views
10 books
  • see all 10 →
  • A time travel romance in which a woman living in 1960's England is transported 400 years back in time (for her health) to relive her previous life, including its doomed romantic entanglements. This giant-sized story of undying passion and reincarnated lovers, with plentiful historical details of the Tudor era, is a must for the Outlander fan who is as drawn to the history as the romance in their reads.

  • Outlander without the time travelly bits, this historical Highlander romance is also heavy on the historical elements, depicting the events leading up to the Massacre at Glencoe, and not as bodice-rippery as its cover would suggest. It's a romance of equally-matched partners from warring clans, and it's a slowly, realistically developed relationship whose historical details are as well-researched as in Outlander.

  • A more emphatically paranormal spin on the Outlander themes, this one has time travel, Scotland, saucy romance and also Fae. It also has all the awkwardness of a modern-day woman confronted with the gender inequality of feudal Scotland. This is the first in a series of eight books, so if you wanted even more otherworldliness in your Outlander experience, enjoy this sexy Scottish fairyland.

  • This book makes the hero do all the pesky legwork of the time travel meet-and-greet, as a modern and recently-betrayed woman encounters a handsome, armor-clad man on horseback at the English-Welsh border who's come straight from 1459. She follows him back to the 15th century, privy to all the political intrigue and challenges characterizing the era of the War of the Roses. History, romance, and witches. Many witches.

  • While there's no time travel, the physical relocation of a sheltered Englishwoman to the uncompromising wilderness of the American frontier of 1792 is just as dramatic and bewildering an experience as being shuttled back through time. A strong historical romance with a charismatic hero makes this a good match for Outlander fans, and bonus - it also directly references characters from the Outlander novels. Easter egg!

September 2017 Indie Next List  ›

20 "Inspired Recommendations from Indie Booksellers"
by Jennifer D.
104 views
20 books

Sociopolitical issues in 21st century America  ›

A broad collection of books providing scientific evidence and anecdotal stories of pressing and controversial social issues in America
by Raquel Velazquez-Kronen
86 views
14 books

16 Books To Look For In September 2017  ›

From the blog: Here I have for you some cli-fi, some literary horror, some trashy horror, sad things, saucy things, spooky things, murder, AND MORE. Pretty much the usual, but definitely the best.
by Outlandish Lit
53 views
14 books

The Best Reads Of September Are Right Here  ›

Here are some of the best reads for September.
by Riffler
52 views
13 books
  • see all 13 →
  • Little House On The Prairie fans, prepare to fall in love with your favorite characters all over again. This retelling of the classic series focuses on a pioneer woman seen in an entirely new light: Caroline Ingalls, a.k.a. “Ma” from Laura Ingalls Wilder’s iconic novels.

  • From award-winning journalist Jessica Bruder comes the revealing true story of a new wave nomads, They live in vans and RVs, traveling the country in search of seasonal work; many of them are single women who can’t rely on social security or savings to pay the bills.

  • Amy Dresner had a Beverly Hills upbringing: plenty of money, fancy schools, all the opportunities in the world laid out on a table for her to choose from. But at 24, while living in San Francisco, she turned into an addiction monster, starting with meth and spiraling downward from there.

  • From legendary writer and thinker Toni Morrison comes a book that deals with one of the thorniest topics of our time: race. In this work of nonfiction, which draws on a legacy of Morrison’s lectures, she tackles big questions: What is race? What motivates us to construct otherness? What makes us so afraid of one another?

  • Hillary Clinton’s memoir of her campaign for the presidency might be a painful read for her supporters — or really anyone fatigued by talk about the 2016 election. What Happened might be our first chance to really see Clinton for who she is without a campaign platform to support.

← Previous 1