Create a list
loadingPeople

Readalikes for Dan Simmons' The Terror  ›

Snow. Survival. Monsters.
by karenbrissette
1592 views
11 books
  • see all 11 →
  • A dark and violent novel about the experiences of the crew of an Arctic-bound whaling ship in the 19th century, whose men face the same dangers from weather, isolation, and disease as the fellas in The Terror. Although this does not have a supernatural menace, it does have Henry Drax, a man with no interest in civilized morality whose actions in the pursuit of pleasure and survival are more monstrous than any ghoul.

  • This is a nonfiction account of the Franklin Expedition that re-examines the assumptions that were made about its fate in the light of the new scientific data obtained from the recent discovery of the ships. After reading it, you can decide for yourself which you find more compelling; science or Simmons.

  • An atmospheric ghost story set in a remote outpost in the Arctic Circle during the Polar Night, when the sun vanishes for months and the potential for spookiness increases greatly. Spookiness does indeed come to visit the members of a scientific expedition in 1937, when a series of mysterious accidents occurs, causing their numbers to dwindle until one man (and one dog) are left to face what haunts the darkness.

  • Nonfiction reinforcing my claim that when it comes to polar voyages, nature's scary enough without adding monsters. From the largest blizzard to the smallest louse, and everything in-between (including murrrderrr), explorers seeking Crocker's Land- a continent spotted, but never reached, by Robert E. Peary in 1906, suffered many earthly hardships. Imagine their LOLs when they found out the land didn't actually exist.

  • This might technically be closer to another of Simmons' books, The Abominable, which is The Terror tipped vertically, where the snow, danger, frostbite, survival and maybe/maybe not monsters occur on Mt Everest. This takes place in a Welsh cave system and then later on Everest, but cold horror is cold horror, and like The Terror, the "natural" horror of the claustrophobic caves is scarier than any "unnatural" threat.