Shirley Jackson Awards 2016


According to the Shirley Jackson Award website, The Shirley Jackson Awards, Inc. was established, with permission of Shirley Jackson's estate to commemorate her legacy and celebrate psychological suspense, dark fantasy and horror.

The awards are handed out to works published in some form of print format for the first time, in English, in the previous year.

Each year the awards are given out for the best psychological stories in several categories: Novel, Novella, Novelette, Short Story, Single-Author Collection, and Edited Anthology.

This is a juried award. Members of the jury change each year but they are supported by a Board of Advisors familiar with the award rules and empowered to make recommendations for consideration.

The nominations for the 2016 Shirley Jackson Awards were announced in May 2017.


Missing Titles:

Nominated for the 2016 Shirley Jackson Award for Best Novella.

"Muscadines" by S. P. Miskowski (Dunhams Manor Press)

Nominated for the 2016 Shirley Jackson Award for Best Short Fiction.

"Red" by Katie Knoll (The Masters Review -- online publication)


The awards presentation took place on Sunday morning, July 16, 2017. The presentation was part of Readercon 28, Conference on Imaginative Literature. Readercon which is held in Quincy, Massachusetts.

The Shirley Jackson Awards started in 2007, this is the 10th year for this award.

After you've seen the sights in this book list, you might want to view the Shirley Jackson Award winners and nominees from other years. To make it easy, use the links below to jump to those lists:

Shirley Jackson Awards: 2016, --|-- Shirley Jackson Awards: 2015,

Shirley Jackson Awards: 2014, --|-- Shirley Jackson Awards: 2013,

Shirley Jackson Awards: 2012, --|-- Shirley Jackson Awards: 2011,

Shirley Jackson Awards: 2010, --|-- Shirley Jackson Awards: 2009,

Shirley Jackson Awards: 2008, --|-- Shirley Jackson Awards: 2007,

If you have any suggestions, feel free to mention them in the discussion section below the list.

This book list is now complete -- no more titles will be added. Published 5/17/2017.

Updated: 2/21/2018 Added the special Board of Directors Award recognizing biographer Ruth Franklin.

-- Gregory Fisher, Riffle Horror Editor and Undead Rat

Source: The Shirley Jackson Awards Website: Winners of the 2016 Shirley Jackson Awards