KULT: A dark and gripping crime thriller full of twists and suspense

Stefan Malmström

‘A potent cocktail of danger, fear, paranoia and unpredictability… a chilling and addictive read’ Avid Readers Retreat THE PAST WILL NEVER LET YOU GO… When a four-year-old girl and her father are found dead in the Swedish city of Karlskrona, the police quickly conclude it was a murder-suicide, a tragedy requiring no further investigation. But Luke Bergmann, a reformed criminal still haunted by his violent past, believes they are wrong. The dead man, Viktor, was his best friend, and Luke knows he would never commit such a horrific crime. When more bodies turn up, Luke is certain the same killer has struck again. Alone, he embarks on an investigation which reaches back through decades to his friend’s involvement with a sinister cult and dark secrets are exposed as Luke struggles to keep his own long-buried demons hidden away. And when Luke finds himself in a killer’s sights, his search for the truth becomes the fight of his life. Can Luke get justice for Viktor and his daughter and prove his best friend was not a murderer, or will the shadows of the past overwhelm him? Fans of The Killing, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, Jo Nesbø and Will Dean will love this dark and gripping début thriller. NOTE: KULT is inspired by shocking and tragic real events. WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT KULT... 'A riveting murder mystery.' Michael Leese, author of the Jonathan Roper Investigates series ‘One of those books that you pick up, start reading and then realize it’s 2a.m. and you finished the book. Dark, gripping and full of suspense… fast-paced and breath taking… I highly recommend picking up KULT. It’s chilling and on my list of favourites of 2019’ Jessica Belmont ‘Brilliant! Trust me, if you like thrillers and creepy religious happenings, you will love this book’ (e)Book Nerd ‘What an adrenaline ride that was! I found this a very cleverly written and insightful story that was based on real tragic and shocking events’ the p.turners book blog 'Such an excellent read - dark and sinister' The Divine Writes ‘By the time I got to the end of the second page I just knew that this would be one book that I would have to read in one sitting’ Ginger Book Geek ‘An impressive, dark and thrilling novel.’ Nisse Thulin ‘This book is top class.’ Sören Bondeson ‘An incredible story, amazingly based on real events. Read!’ Mikael Ankarvik ‘Very good and super exciting! I had to skim the last twenty pages before I dared read them properly.’ Lisa Helmersson *** Stefan Malmström is a former news journalist who has worked for Sveriges Radio and Swedish TV4. Today he works as a consultant, lecturer and author. At a young age, Stefan was manipulated into the Church of Scientology in Hässleholm, a small town in southern Sweden. KULT, his first book, is based on his experiences in the cult. Stefan lives in Karlskrona in Sweden with his family.

Silvertail Books 254 pages

  • Reviews